Tip: Getting Rid of Multiple Entries in OSX’s “Open With” Menu…

Hey all, just quick tip before the holidays! The other day I found myself looking once again for a tip to remedy this situation:

random screenshot

The issue, in a nutshell, is that whenever you install a new app update from the Mac App Store, it inserts a copy of the icon in the “Open With” menu when you right click anything. It kind of drives me crazy!

At any rate, I think I’ve looked for a fix at least four times now so, in an effort to prevent that from happening to you (and myself) again, I wanted to post it up here so I could find it easily.

Now this tip pertains 10.8 (Mountain Lion), but I’m assuming it’d work in previous versions as well. So, to clean this mess up, open up a terminal window (found in Finder > Applications > Utilities > Terminal.app), paste the following command line entry and hit enter (make sure you get all of it):

/System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/LaunchServices.framework/Versions/A/Support/lsregister -kill -r -domain local -domain system -domain user

It may take a few seconds to execute but when the command line prompt comes back up, close Terminal and check your “Open With” menu again. It should now be cleaned up, with only single entries listed. On one occasion, this “fix” didn’t take effect until I restarted my mac, but all of the other times I tried it, it was instantaneous.

Is it “bad” to have multiple listings? Absolutely not. It’s just a slightly OCD need to keep things tidy that I have. I have to imagine it drives other people nuts as well. 😉

That’s it! I’d like to wish everyone in the states a happy Thanksgiving! If you’re traveling, be safe and if you are staying home, make sure the turkey fryer is no where near anything combustible.

Have an awesome holiday everyone!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s