Living phoneless…

Photo 6.jpg
Honestly, when my phone busted recently I dreaded not having a cell phone. Mel and I got rid of our land line a LONG time ago and having just the cell phone has worked, for the most part, just fine. So when that connection was lost, well, I was a little stressed. I changed my voicemail to tell folks to call Mel’s cell, I updated the sites and hoped that what limited communication that Mel and I had with the outside world, would be able to deal with whatever catastrophes came our way.

But that’s coming from a decidedly “glass half empty” version of myself. Facts are, when it came right down to it, I felt somewhat liberated.

Let me explain…

See, I’ve always been a somewhat neurotically introverted person. But I’m a mental quandary all the same. While I deeply need to hear from the people that I love dearly, it’s the unknown contact that I loathe. I hate being interrupted from just about anything I am not being paid to do. So you can see why I have this odd love-hate relationship with phones.

While I feel the dire need to be able to be contacted at any time, I sometimes really hate being contacted.

If you’re confused, trust me, so am I.

All I can say is that when you are me, and that phone option is taken away from you when you have absolutely zero control of the situation, a wonderful quietude falls around you. It’s like heading to the mountains for a week knowing FULL well that any wiz-bang technology that you can put into your pocket doesn’t have a snowball’s chance in hell of working properly. It’s when that option is taken away from you, that I’ve discovered that I, as a person, am divided into one of two camps. In either camp, you sigh, and that sigh is either of relief, or frustration and utter anxiety.

I was surprised (honestly, I truly was…) that I found solace and calm in the former. Of course I worried about “what could’ve happened”, but really, how often does “what could’ve happened” actually “happen”.

Wait… actually… don’t answer that.

It’s the weekend folks!! Get up! Get out! Get Happy! 😀

Leave a Reply

