A Mid Night Symphony

I stood beside my good friend and watched the stars ache…
Straining to send the smallest amount of light…
Through unquenchable darkness.

I sigh…
Feeling the earth spin, pulling me slowly with it.

I return my gaze as the players take their seats.
The wind whips and sighs…
Between the trees’ leafless fingers;
Almost tangible and tactile.
Like the thinnest of ribbons…
Being pulled through my finger tips…
Soft and cool,
Almost welcoming,
But too cold to embrace or find comfort in.

The needles from a neighboring pine hiss…
It’s insistence intensifying.
Suddenly branches…
Filled with dormant life,
Croak out a dry dull tone that…
By itself….
One…
Is the song of abject sorrow.

But together,
Unified…
They weave an intricate pattern.
Subtle in it’s beauty…
Filled with a heartache that at once I identify with…
But am a stranger to all the same.

Chimes echo in the distance.
A single bird sings with the crescendo of it all…
And just when I think it’s over…

I feel warmth fill my hand…
causing me to blink.

I haven’t forgotten…
Him…
Or all that surrounds me.

Reality,
…the ultimate denouement,

To a magic that constantly surrounds me.
A magic that often begs me to stop…
share…
wait…
and listen.

One thought on “A Mid Night Symphony

Leave a Reply

